MONMOUTHSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of County Council held on Tuesday, 8th May, 2018 at 5.00 pm

PRESENT: County Councillor M. Powell (Chairman)

County Councillor P. Clarke (Vice Chairman)

County Councillors: D. Batrouni, D. Blakebrough, D. Dovey, A. Easson, R. Edwards, D. Evans, P.A. Fox, R.J.W. Greenland, L. Guppy, R. Harris, J. Higginson, G. Howard, S. Howarth, D. Jones, P. Jones, S. Jones, S.B. Jones, P. Jordan, P. Murphy, B. Strong, F. Taylor, A. Webb, L.Brown, A.Davies, M.Feakins, M.Groucutt, R.John, L.Jones, M.Lane, P.Pavia, J.Pratt, R.Roden, T.Thomas,

J.Treharne, J.Watkins and S. Woodhouse

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Paul Matthews Chief Executive

Kellie Beirne Deputy Chief Executive
Peter Davies Chief Officer, Resources
Roger Hoggins Head of Operations

Will McLean Chief Officer for Children and Young People

Nicola Perry Senior Democracy Officer

Claire Marchant Chief Officer Social Care, Health & Safeguarding

APOLOGIES:

County Councillors V. Smith, A. Watts, K. Williams, J.Becker and L.Dymock

2. Declarations of interest

No declarations of interest.

3. To elect a Chairman of the County Council for the Civic Year 2018/19

The Chairman, County Councillor M. Powell, addressed Council and thanked all who had supported her during her year of office.

The Chairman expressed thanks to the staff across the Authority, appreciating the invaluable help of Mrs. Linda Greer and Mrs. Julia Boyd. Thanks were given to Steve Barker, the Chairman's chauffer.

The Leader addressed Council and thanked County Councillor Powell for her year in office, along with her consort, Mr. John Powell, for their work for the Council

The leaders of the political groups, County Councillor D. Batrouni, S. Howarth and L. Guppy echoed the sentiments of Councillor Fox.

It was moved by County Councillor P. Fox, and duly seconded by Councillor G. Howard, that County Councillor P. Clarke be elected as Chairman of Monmouthshire County Council for the Civic Year 2018/19. Upon being put to the vote it was unanimously agreed to elect Councillor Clarke as Chairman.

County Councillor P. Clarke made and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, was invested with the Chain of Office by the outgoing Chairman, and took the Chair.

MONMOUTHSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of County Council held on Tuesday, 8th May, 2018 at 5.00 pm

The newly elected Chairman thanked Members for their support and announced that Mrs. J. Clarke would be his consort; Councillor, Reverend Malcolm Lane as Chaplain; Gwent Music will be the Chairman's charity.

The Chairman then presented the outgoing Chairman with the Past Chairman's Badge of Office.

4. To appoint a Vice-Chairman of the County Council for the Civic Year 2018/19

It was moved by County Councillor R.J.W. Greenland, and seconded by County Councillor P. Murphy that County Councillor S. Woodhouse be appointed as Vice Chairman of the County Council for the Civic Year 2017/18.

Upon being put to the vote it was resolved that County Councillor S. Woodhouse be appointed as Vice Chairman of the County Council for the Civic Year 2017/18.

County Councillor Woodhouse made and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, was invested with her Chain of Office by the Chairman, and took her position as Vice Chairman.

The Vice Chairman thanked Members for their support and offered her support to the newly elected Chairman. The Vice Chairman's consort would be Mr. Chris Woodhouse.

The meeting concluded with the presentation of the Chain of Office to the incoming Chairman's Deputy Consort, a pendant to the outgoing Chairman's Consort, and the Chain of Office to the incoming Vice Chairman's Consort.

5. The following items will be deferred to the meeting of the County Council to be held on 10th May 2018:

We resolved that the remaining items of business be deferred to the meeting of the County Council to be held on 10th May 2018.

The meeting ended at 5.45 pm